Tarheeltalker

I guess I am just ignorant

… of the law that is. It looks much more impressive in Latin though. Ignorantia juris non excusat which of course expands our  definition to mean that ignorance of the law is no excuse. I will confess to having often applied this concept to others while rarely if ever including myself. After all, the small( fortunately)  number of tickets that I  have received were for things that were indeed legitimate.

But we ( Mrs THT) and I this week discovered that we were in violation of  a city ordinance of which we had no clue. The scenario went something like this. I moved our car out of the driveway  so that we could drive the truck on that holiest of grail searches for  a guy, the search for a new lawnmower.

I parked the car  partly in the street and partly in the front yard to lessen its chances of being hit. In the very short time that ensued before I could swap places ( truck for car) in the driveway, an unexpected thing occurred. There was  a knock on the door which my wife answered. From hearing her side of the conversation, I was quite confused about the person with whom she was speaking. Meeting her at the door,I saw a local police officer returning to his vehicle. Having no clue about what we had done wrong  I asked her what he said. Seems that by parking the car partly in the road and partly in the yard, I had violated a city ordinance. This last is the kicker though. He told her that we needed to move the vehicle because we want to keep our  city beautiful. Huh?

I can think of many things that would make  enhance our city’s appearance. But  nowhere on the list could I find positioning my vehicle completely in the street or driveway versus partly in both, as such a reason. Now, paranoia being what it is I wonder if there are other beautification ordinances that  I am violating . After all Earth Day is April 26 and I certainly want to do my part. Never know if Al Gore ( aka algore) is watching.

March 27, 2011 - Posted by | Legal system | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. well, that’s just priceless! I can’t believe I’m related to such an outrageous lawbreaker! after all, the beauty of one’s fair city cannot be trampled upon by the location of one’s parked car! sure hope you do better in the future!

    Comment by pshope | March 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Shucks, my secret is out. Dont tell Joannie!

    Comment by tarheeltalker | March 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

