Tarheeltalker

A Troubling Topic

I write this post with a bit of trepidation as the topic is somewhat personal to me. It brings back memories from many years ago,all the way back to what was then known as junior high. My junior high years were hands down some of my hardest. Truth be told, they probably were my hardest. I rarely dwell on those times   but some recent events have brought them to mind once again.

The topic referred to in the title is that of bullying. My wife mentioned today a recent example of what is popularly called cyber-bullying. The young people in question were asked why they posted such critical information online, some of which may have been fabricated.(That I do not know for  a fact.) Their response was that no one liked the girl in question anyway and besides, it was fun. Thankfully this particular young lady did not commit suicide, although several young people have done just that.

I  am well aware that bullying is not new and went on far earlier than my own experience. You can find some  quite apropos examples in the Bible. Try Jacob and Esau or Joseph and his brothers and see if those accounts seem comparable to our culture.

What bothers  me is that acts of bullying today are on a much different level  than what I  experienced and the bullying can become somewhat exponential as it is disseminated through various social networking  media. No wonder that the effects are greater and both the act and its impact are so widely publicized.

I really  have no solid answers, but I am unsure whether more and more laws are helpful. I have tried to draw analogies with my own personal experience, the specifics  of which I have never shared with anyone. What might have happened to me had those events from long ago  been published for the viewing “pleasure” of others?  I just don’t know, but shudder to think of the possibilities.

January 19, 2011 - Posted by | Culture, Technology | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I share your concerns and have written a number of posts on my blog about bullying and cyber-bullying. Whatever is being done, is simply not enough.

    Comment by Michael G. | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. sad to say, but it happens in my class with kids as young as 5, I do what I can to curb it, but can’t stop it, parents don’t seem to see it as bullying when the kids are little, but call it what it is, bullying! how to stop it? I wish I had an answer!

    Comment by pshope | January 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

