Tarheeltalker

Get Your ” Free ” Colonoscopy

About 2 years ago, I had a  colonoscopy done  at the urging of my physician. It was done at the hospital on an outpatient basis. To ensure that things went as they should, there was  an anesthesiologist, a gastroenterologist, a radiologist and a nurse or two. All of those folks did their job well, for which I was very thankful. Funny thing about those medical professionals , they expect to get paid for doing their jobs, as well they should.

But, now as the specifics of Obamacare begin to surface there may be a complicating factor in their getting paid. I will repeat for emphasis and will probably repeat it multiple times, Speaker Pelosi said that the bill had to be passed to know what was in it. Funny, that’s about what Sen Chris Dodd, D, CT just said about the much ballyhooed financial  reform bill. He added that we really won’t know if it works until there’s  another financial crisis. Comforting words, those. That statement doesn;t square up very well with what I heard the President say at the signing ceremony today. No more, he said, bailing out the big financial firms , no more crises. Really?

Anyway, back to our ” free”medical test. I believe it was Mrs Obama, could have been the President though who was talking about free medical tests. Come 2014, when many of the bill’s provisions kick in, no longer will people have to forego many of the preventative medical tests that they need. Why, because they will be free. That’s what she said. One of the tests mentioned was the above referenced colonoscopy. I started thinking about that the other day. One of the random thoughts that crossed my mind was that it may be  free but somebody’s going to pay for it.(As we all know there is no free lunch.) The medical people  involved do not work for free remember. So who is going to pay for  the test?  The government you may say. But how will they do that ? Take a wild guess and say taxes and more taxes.

It sounds quite appealing to promote these tests as being free, but eventually, the piper is paid.

July 21, 2010 - Posted by | Health | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. My first thought is that I would like for paid anesthesiologist, gastroenterologist, radiologist and the nurses than have ones that will not get paid for their work. Which one would you feel safe doing a colonoscopy on you, the paid or unpaid?

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | July 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] Get Your ” Free ” Colonoscopy Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Obama Approval 38%, Pelosi Approval 35%, yes thats […]

    Pingback by JOBS Biggest Problem Facing Our Economy « Goodtimepolitics | July 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. You mean that you don’t trust Obamacare to make all your medical decisions for you? After all, the goverment knows what’s best for us, right?

    Comment by tarheeltalker | July 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. At this point in my life, with colon cancer so common in my family,I am tempted to sell a kidney so that I can afford a screening!Maybe the Obamas can help me out…I have no insurance.

    Comment by Melanie Gambill | June 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Colon cancer is also common in my wife’s family so I am quite glad we were able to have the screening. I have been where you are without insurance and it is not a comfortable feeling. Certainly hope there is away for you to get the test!

      Comment by tarheeltalker | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your blog. It appears like some of the text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Appreciate it

    Comment by design and branding | August 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

