Tarheeltalker

A Cup of Cold Water

There  are very few things any more satisfying or refreshing than a  cup of cold water on  a sweltering hot day. In my neck of the woods, there have been  a bunch of those kind of days  lately. As  a letter carrier, I am out in the midst of that heat on  a daily basis, so it is crucially important to maintain an adequate supply of liquids.

I have a couple of folks on my route that are  kind enough to provide  some welcome refreshment when  I am delivering their mail. I am always very thankful for their kindness since it is something they do willingly out of the goodness of their hearts.

Their action brought a verse of scripture to mind, Mark 9:41.

                For whoever gives you a cup of water to drink because of your name as followers of Christ, truly I( Jesus) say to you, he shall not lose his reward.

In New Testament days, water was  a precious commodity as it still is in that part of the world. Saudi Arabia, for example , has to obtain virtually all of its water through desalinization. So, a gift of water was a precious gift indeed. Fortunately, water is not that hard to obtain for us. But, for me, it is still  a precious and highly appreciated gift.

So, to these who give, I say, Shalom!

July 7, 2010 - Posted by | Life | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh No! You have did it now, the Obama administration will be down on you for accepting favors, and drinking free water that isn’t taxed yet by Obama! Oh has water been ok’d by the FDA? 🙂
    I installed our mail box under a very big oak tree so that the mail lady can enjoy the shade for a couple minutes. I see that the stamps are going up again, Be cool and safe on your route. The mail carriers around here has to have a flashing light on top of their cars and now a red flag sticking out the side of the car, the red flag kind of reminds me of a Russian car!

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | July 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. I made certain not to identify the people who provided the water or else Obama would be after them too!

    lol

    Comment by Tarheeltalker | July 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

