Tarheeltalker

The Burgundy Potato

 

The Baked Potato-Before

Ever since I was a child, the lowly spud has been one of all time favorite foods and it remains so today. But  the potato of which I write is not an edible variety, but rather one that was at one time mobile.

Almost a decade ago, when I was a very new rural mail carrier substitute, I needed to replace my delivery vehicle. Rural carriers deliver out of their own  vehicles and it is an ongoing struggle to find and keep transportation. At this particular time, I was fortunate to but  a vehicle from a fellow carrier who had just upgraded. Turns out that the $500 I paid was one of the smartest purchases I have ever made.

The vehicle in question was a 1979 Ford LTD, nicknamed the baked potato since  there was a small hole in the floorboard that allowed heat to enter. It had been plugged  with aluminum foil, I believe.

Not long after the purchase, I was delivering mail from tis vehicle when I was rear ended by a truck traveling at a rather high rate of speed. Although sitting still at the time, my vehicle was propelled  about 100 feet or  so down an embankment and into a tree.

To this day, I consider myself very blessed to have been uninjured except for being very shaken up. The wife still thinks I suffered a minor concussion but for some inexplicable reason, I declined medical attention. ( Duh!!)

When you view the “after” pictures you will no doubt share my amazement at being unhurt. I have never been a big fan of Ford products but I shall always

be indebted to the vehicle that became known as yes, the mashed potato!

April 21, 2010 - Posted by | Life | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

