Tarheeltalker

“People are going to die………”

I  feel the need to make public those times that I agree with the president on a major issue. The above statement (without the ellipsis) was in his health care speech last night and no I did not watch it. And not because it was Obama. I heard this particular quote and hae seen it referenced a few times. He is correct. people are going to die. Whether or not the non passage of health care reform contributes to that is open to question. I seriously doubt it could be proved or disproved should one  attempt to do so.

After all, using CDC numbers from 2006, there were 2,26,264 deaths in our country. The only reason that I could think he would use a phrase like that is for shock value, to either galvanize his  supporters or shock those undecided into becoming supporters. It is a memorable line, but methinks it would have been better left unsaid.

It reminded me of a guy I used to work with, now retired. When stormy weather was predicted he would say with a straight face  that there was going to be  thunder and lightning and we are all going to die. To which another coworker would invariably reply, yes we all are , eventually. The implication that my first friend was seeking to make, tongue-in-cheek , was that it would be due to the upcoming stormy weather. That is the analogy that came to mind when I heard this line from the speech.

I have kinda reached the point where I hope the legislation gets passed , generally however the party in power wants  it  to be. Then if it succeeds, bully for them. If not, oh well. I guess they could  always deny and  obfuscate.

September 10, 2009 - Posted by | Health, Politics | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hey Tarheel, I didn’t realize you had a blog until I saw it in my stats. Your userid does not have a link as I’m sure you know. I have enjoyed your site however, your last paragraph here toubles me…

    Comment by Warrant One Girl - asil | September 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. You know , it troubles me as well. I am disappointed in myself that I feel that way. Guess I am so frustrated with the process before Congress, particularly the frequently stated intentions that we are going to do it, with or without a bipartisan approach. And then this am , I read a post on my son’s blog where he came out in favor of a public option. Granted, he and I differ politically., but I thought he would see the problems that exist with the public option. Could I have healthcare “battle fatigue”? Sue Obama can fix that too.

    Comment by tarheeltalker | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. hey, go to the love page for inspiration if you need it! hahaha

    Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. Gal 6:9

    Comment by Warrant One Girl - asil | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. The way I see this is, we all will die and no one can take anything of this Earth with them. I have a hard time following a person like Obama that change directions back and forth so much. says one thing today and will change it tomorrow!

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | September 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

