Tarheeltalker

Should You Shop At Home?

For accuracy purposes we will assume home is the the town or city in which one lives, not shopping at ones domicile. Just wanted to be clear on that. All things being equal, I would prefer to shop at home. You know, support local merchants, your friends and neighbors. Money spent at home is circulated in  such a way as to benefit the local community more than say money spent in a neighboring  community. There is the obvious benefit  of sales tax collections, of course. But also there is the reality that money spent at home circulates at home and is re spent, etc.

So, having said all those good things, why should one not do all of their consumer spending where they live?  Availability or lack of it would be the obvious factor. If there is a product that you cannot find at home, you must find other alternatives. For example, I have t wear a certain type of shoe at work which cannot be obtained locally or maybe I should add cannot be obtained without difficulty.

This , I suppose, brings me close to the reason behind the post. it often appears to me as if  local merchants really don’t care about your business. Not all of them, but a  fairly significant number. Poor customer service that is reflected in how one is treated in the place of business, how the employees act(more involved with each other than the customer), perhaps  even treating some customers better than others. From time to time, due to a slight , perceived or real, I will tell my wife that I have paid my last visit to such and such a store or that my feathers have been ruffled. That has become almost a catch phrase. She will say from time to time that eventually there will be no where else for me to patronize. To some degree, that is ok , since I really  do not enjoy shopping very much.But,  alas, one must venture out in public from time to time. For that reason, I am quite thankful for The Marina Restaurant and The Sandwich Shop to name  a couple. There are some others  but they will do for now.

Customer service, dead or terminally ill and can Obamacare fix it? I wish I knew. And yes, this very day, I had a place that”ruffled my feathers” so now I feel much better, thank you.

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | Culture, Shopping | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Although Obamacare is meant to be all things for all people, I don’t recall it covering ruffled feathers. Luckily, you sound like a self-healing kind of guy. 😉

    Comment by larrys | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. If Obama manages his so called Obama government care like he did the Obama stimulus that creating 3,236 Oregon jobs but those jobs lasted on average only 35 hours. Then we’re in trouble. I don’t see where the government has managed Medicare very well.
    http://goodtimepolitics.com/2009/07/29/obamas-stimulus-creating-3236-but-those-jobs-lasted-on-average-only-35-hours/

    Now to the ruffled feathers issue, I don’t use our local hospital and go 48 miles to a better care hospital. We also don’t have very good places to eat here, so I go out of the area to eat. I do use our local pump repair, Auto dealer, Lawn Mower shop, motor rewind shop, Feed Store and take the Local Newspaper but have a good reason…all is owned or managed by kin!

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | July 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t think that these store employees should all know my name, but at the least, they should be glad I came!!

    Comment by tarheeltalker | July 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

