Tarheeltalker

Talking NCIS

Anyone who is even a casual reader of this blog knows of my affinity for NCIS, from the intro through the closing. My wife has tired of my oft repeated comment that I prefer  the opening of NCIS to any other show. Think that is a little bit over the top? Nah, me neither. When I think about why I like the show to the degree I do, it often brings up a valid point. What makes prefer one television show, one song, one movie  over another? Doubtless there have been and will continue to be analysis more profound than mine. And, of course, advertisers are always trying to figure it out as are writers and producers and the like.

I will attempt to do this within the context of NCIS, maybe explore the musical side of the topic at a later date. So, is it the type of series that clicks for me? Could be a factor since I liked JAG and a number of the same people have been involved in NCIS. One caveat, my wife often reminds me that i disliked the introductory episodes of NCIS since they were out to get JAG’S main character. And, another tidbit, we somehow missed most of the first season. Yep, embarrasses me too. Hope that Jethro never finds out.

Anyway, there are other similar shows which I do not like. At first glance, I am not sold on NCIS, Los Angeles. So, how about the characters? Of those who  have been regular or semi-regular, I have connected with almost all. Again, a factor. Perhaps what I like most and these two items are key, I believe. I Thoroughly enjoy  the humor , particularly DiNiozzo style. For example , in an older episode, he and Ziva were grilling McGee about his “love life”. Says DiNozzo, ” The proby is probing, I demand that he tell.” To me, even out o=f context, that was a great line. I have read that Michael Weatherly, who plays DiNozzo, is the only cast member allowed to ad-lib. Works for me.

Finally is something I talked about in another post, Working For Gibbs. I admire,, perhaps envy, a little; the working relationship among the team members. USA Network in its promos calls it ” a dysfunctional family kind of way”/ I disagree with that. I

The Team, Sans Ducky

The Team, Sans Ducky

believe that my affinity and yes, envy stems from the fact that I have never had that kind of working relationship or environment. Not meaning I have not had good jobs or enjoyed certain of them. But in no case has my situation ever matched that as portrayed on the show. Too much to ask in the real world, maybe so. One can always hope, right boss?

July 11, 2009 - Posted by | Media | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Jethro finds out EVERYTHING.

    Comment by larrys | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. I had forgotten how true that is with not only eyes but ears in the back of his head. Now, if I could just could figure out how to get him reading my blog!

    Comment by tarheeltalker | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. What makes you think he’s not, already? (When he goes on vacation, he delegates it to Ducky.)

    Comment by larrys | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m not sure Michael Weatherly is the only cast member “allowed” to ad lib, but he is good at it, and the other cast members don’t mind that he does it. Cote de Pablo has said that because of her theater background, she is comfortable going off script. I could see Mark Harmon ad libbing once in a while. The show’s DVDs are a great buy if you are a crazed fan like I am.

    Comment by Josie | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. Have seasons 1-4 on dvd so i am just a little behind. I hear season 6 goes on sale in about a month

    Comment by tarheeltalker | July 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

