Tarheeltalker

Tiger Or The Field?

I’m not really that much of a golfer, only played a  very few times and not in many years. And I’m not much of a golf  fan. But, like many people, I am a Tiger Woods fan. Yeah, I know, he makes a gazillion $ a year but I don’t  care. I really enjoy watching him play. Beginning Thursday, he goes for yet another major championship when the  109th U S Open begins in Farmingdale NY at Bethpage Black.

Tiger has 3 Open wins on his resume, among his total of 14 major championships, including 2008’s one-legged win. Oh yeah, he won at Bethpage in 2002. So, do you take him to win or the field? More astute golf observers than I would say to always take Tiger in a  major and I firmly agree. Even when he  loses, he is great to  watch, like talent that doesn’t come along in their sport all that often. As for the greatest ever, perhaps and perhaps not.  I think, baring further serious injury he should break Jack Nicklaus’ record of 18 majors with a bit of room to spare. But 25 majors as I  heard posited recently, doubtful.

So, if one  assumes he  breaks  the majors record with say 21, will that automatically make  him the greatest. In golf, winning majors is probably the best and most objective  measuring stick. Add that to the enormous interest he has generated in golf  and being a great ambassador for the sport, should be sufficient. After all, he has me writing about golf and I couldn’t break a 100 unless I stopped at 10 holes.

While I respect Nicklaus and his achievements, Tiger should rightfully assume his  mantle  at the appropriate time.

FYI, Phil Mickelson s probably Tiger’s chief rival at this time and has been for a while. Virtually all golf fans and most sports fans know that his wife,Amy, is battling breast cancer. Our sincere thoughts and prayers go out to the Mickelsons.

June 17, 2009 - Posted by | Sports | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Tiger.

    Comment by larrys | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. I meant “the field”.

    Comment by larrys | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. In fact, I’ve been reviewing “the field” a bit more, and I’m taking an interest in this kid Lucas Glover. Granted, he’s way down on the PGA totem pole, and he only made it into the Open as a sectional qualifier, but I have a hunch he may do well. 🙂

    Comment by larrys | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. You know , I kinda like the sound of that name. Maybe I meant that Tiger would trump the field in the British open. They are so hard to keep separate.

    lol

    Comment by tarheeltalker | June 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

