Tarheeltalker

Good Friday

As Holy Week draws to a climax, today is the day the day that we call good. In reality, some 1950+ years ago in Jerusalem, unspeakably bad things took place.As I was reading about the Last Supper last night, the thought struck me about how long the original Good Friday was and all that took place. So much of the gospel narrative takes place during Holy Week and particularly on Friday. Beginning with Jesus’ agony in Gethsemane all the way through the crucifixion and burial, its far more involved and agonizing than an episode of 24 could aspire to be.

All four New Testament gospels do a great job of putting us right in the middle of the chaotic and brutal events that took place. I’m partial to Luke”s account, although I don’t really know why.

The scriptures do not mince words in their treatment of Jesus’ scourging and crucifixion yet in some ways the account is almost matter of  fact with no attempt to sensationalize as would be the case in our day. Several things jump out to me as I’m sure they wold  to anyone who reads the account with an open mind. I will mention just a few that are quite meaningful to me.

For the first one, I go back to the Old Testament;  Isaiah 52:14b

” So his appearance was marred more than than any man

What a striking statement to describe just the outward effects of Jesus” suffering.

Secondly, I look to Matthew 27:12-15 when Jesus was questioned by the Roman governor, Pontius Pilate. I can scarcely imagine the confusion and chaos and the violently raucous atmosphere that must have been present during this event. But yet under intense questioning by a very powerful political leader, he answered not a word as had been predicted many years previously. John19:11 amplifies this conversation so beautifully,when Jesus said ” You would have no authority over Me, unless it had been given you from above”. Perhaps the most poignant and certainly the most difficult for me to even begin to fathom when at 3:00 PM in the midst of crushing darkness, just before the end, scripture tells us that  Jesus said these words.

“My God, My God why  hast thou forsaken me?’ It is said to be the time when the inexplicable relationship between God the Father and Jesus was broken as Jesus took on our sin. No, I cannot fathom it , nor come close to explaining it. Those much better versed theologically should make those efforts. I will borrow a line  from a Darlene Zschech song  that says:

‘” I ‘ll never know just what it cost to see my sin upon that cross”

And so Good Friday it was and is, not for Him, but for us.

Shalom.

It is a

iT IS

April 10, 2009 - Posted by | Bible study, History, Holidays | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. To bad that the Obama Administration does not read your post, maybe they would see the light!

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | April 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh to have just an opportunity to directly influence the Obama folks. One can only hope!

    Comment by Tarheeltalker | April 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

