Tarheeltalker

When Do You Get Old?

I’m not really sure if I am old or not but then i realize two facts. For the first time in my life I am older than the President and for the first ( or second time maybe) I am older than the pastor of the church which I attend. And I don’t mean a little bit but by significant numbers in both instances. My pastor commented that he was gaining on me in age but I don’t seem to notice the gap decreasing. That ‘s probably good,huh? For if and when he catches me, we will know why.

So, I guess by empirical evidence, I am old. To my grandchildren, I may be ancient,even.But old I think was and  is a somewhat relative term. In the recent Super Bowl, one quarterback was described as ancient at age 37. To be a U S Senator, one must be at least 35.A gymnast or tennis player or swimmer at the international level is probably ancient at 25 0r 30,  depending on which sport one chooses.

Looking around our house, I wonder what qualifies as old. we have some dishes, cookware, etc that date from the beginning of our marriage, a while ago. I have a Bible that I used in high school, some 4o+ years ago and it still works okay. we have  a picture of my dad’s father, taken I guess 70-80(?) years ago, if not longer.

So,since this you’re as old as you feel stuff is to me, at least, baloney(otherwise my age would range from 10-90 based on how I feel versus how I act) what about this aging process. Our trendy and popular magazines stress ad nauseam how to look young younger or feel younger  or stay younger. Let us not forget the wonders of Botox and all its contributions, either.

I just wish that I lived in a culture that revered the old and equated gray hair with great wisdom. Were that the case, I might have reached that elusive genius stage by now. Alas,Mensa has yet to give me that honorary membership, so better get back to memorizing some  more trivia from way back in the 60″s.

Shalom!

February 7, 2009 - Posted by | Culture, Family | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That age brings another realization, or so says my human, and he’s ten years older than dirt. When you’ve achieved enough wisdom to learn that having it and influencing others (whether they’re even cognizantof the fact) is more important than recognition for its acquisition, a lot of frustrations evaporate. Visit me at http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com and read my latest posts for some laughs. Love those Tarheel Mountains in the Asheville-Burnsville area.

    Comment by sandysays1 | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. When you start saying if I knew then what I know now I would be rich! You will know that you’re getting old! 🙂

    Comment by goodtimepolitics | February 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

