Tarheeltalker

Do You Have a Favorite Style ? ( And Should You ) Part II

Continuing with yesterdays subject of worship , I want to go beyond music to other elements of a service of worship . This one is not as significant , I guess and perhaps not even an issue  to most folks  . Does what one chooses to wear have an impact on worship, one’s own or someone else’s  ?

Growing up in a very traditional albeit very rural church you can imagine the type of clothes that people wore . For the most part , our church was composed of blue collar folks who looked forward to Sunday and wearing their  Sunday best . My mother was a classic example . She worked in  a textile mill and came home covered in cotton most of the time . But on Sunday , it was the dress , the shoes , the hat ( yes, the hat ) and the pocketbook all color coordinated . Did it make her more worshipful than some one who didnt go to those lengths, probably not . But , to her , it was the only way .

The ” dressing up ” approach was generally the approach I followed for many years and I never thought much about it since virtually everyone did the same . But I can remember a few folks in  one of the ” First ” churches we attended dressing somewhat casually and not being appalled but feeling that they probably should know and do ” better ” .( Now , bear in mind that I am not by any means criticizing the dress of those who dont have choices . )

Over time ,  the more casual attire has become more and more common except in the more traditional churches . In some places a coat and tie are  more or less out of sight, out of mind .

Now , does this mean that anything goes since after all , God  looks not on the outward appearance but on the heart ? Now  , funny though it may sound this is an issue that I have wrestled with from time to time with no clear answer . Having said that , I have reached a conclusion of sorts that makes a bit of sense, at least to me . One should dress for church in a way that makes  him or her comfortable or that is appropriate for the type of church that they attend . But , dont dress in such a way that one calls undue attention to oneself thus  drawing attention and focus away from where it needs to be .

December 1, 2008 - Posted by | Christian living, church | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Yes , I generally dress casually myself , rarely a tie .

    Comment by tarheeltalker | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. I like this series 🙂 I like your blog.

    My opinion Jesus says come as you are and if that means you’re in a suit and tie or jeans and a t-shirt… yes I know when Jesus said that he was talking about matters of the heart. At my old church I was a dancer so we wore our dance garments and after we changed for service I usually had on jeans, not anything dressy at all. Now I must say though, this might’ve been an expression of how I felt in my heart about what I was receiving because I noticed when I dressed up I was more inclined to pay attention in service than if I just had on street clothes. Now that may just be me but I don’t know. But there needs to be some balance like… I think you should be able to present yourself well before the Father (because you come to church expecting to be in his presence) and not have it be a show for other people… It really is a heart matter… Lol

    Comment by Ashley | December 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

