Tarheeltalker

First Love ( Not what you might think )

Admittedly , the above is a slightly misleading title in that the subject in question is not a person but a thing , kinda, sorta . Oh okay , I’m talking sports and for those who know me more than a little , the first love has to be UNC related and so it is . I thought it appropriate since football is heading down the home stretch, women’s soccer is poised for a  strong finish and a highly touted basketball team starts play on November 15th . Plus , we are anticipating going to our first football game  in several years and will be enjoying it with the other tarheel fanatics in our family, my youngest sister and her husband , obviously also very intelligent people . I have been asked numerous times over the years how I could attend  Appalachian State and still remain a diehard Carolina fan .

Well, my connection  with the Apps  began in 1970 while my Carolina ties beagn as early as 1958 or 59 , generally speaking forever . That connection has even  survived a stint in Georgia bulldog country so it is somewhat well entrenched . It is rather interesting  that of all the sports teams that I latched onto as a  kid, all the other attachments have faded, some to the point  of near non- existence . Oh well, as a famous song says, ” Tar Heel born and Tar Heel bred  and when I die I’m a Tar Heel dead . ”

GO HEELS !!

November 3, 2008 - Posted by | Sports | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Tarheeltalker’s Weblog put an intriguing blog post on First Love ( Not what you might think )Here’s a quick excerptIt is rather interesting that of all the sports teams that I latched onto as a …Oh okay , I’m talking sports and for those who know me more than a little , the first love has to be UNC related and so it is …. […]

    Pingback by Sports News » Blog Archive » First Love ( Not what you might think ) | November 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

