Tarheeltalker

Why Didn’t I See That Before Now ?

I will never ever cease to be amazed at the levels of meaning in the the Scriptures . One can read a passage dozens of times and then all of a sudden ” see ” something that is new to you .  Of that I will never tire . The latest example of that phenomenon happened to me just a day or so ago . The New Testament book of Romans is packed with lots of heavy theological  concepts but also with practical teachings that can apply to many areas of our lives . Romans 12:9-21 encompasses by my count some 29 examples of  those practical dos and donts . My focus for this post is the latter part  of verse 19 ;   Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord , which is a partial quotation from Deuteronomy 32:35. Not that I am in a vengeful mood or out to get even with anyone mind you but this  is what hit me from this verse . God says that vengeance is His and if it is His , it cannot be ours and we neednt worry about the old bugaboo of getting even . I know that is such a simple concept but this time it  sank in as never before . So , as I am going to endeavor to do,  lock in this truth so that when the time comes for it to be apropos and come it surely will you and I will be prepared.

Shalom.

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | Bible study, Christian living | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

