Tarheeltalker

Sheep and Shepherds

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want . Most everyone with even a cursory knowledge of the Bible has heard these words multiple times . I would venture that this passage is the most frequently cited at funerals . But what do they mean ? Few of us are shepherds or even know any shepherds and  have little if any contact with sheep . In both Old and New Testament times , the very opposite was the case. Society was generally agrarian and so the imagery and language of Scripture was quite familiar to those living then . What Keller has done in his book that I referenced yesterday is to bring that imagery home to us in a masterful way . I have begun rereading his book as I work on these posts and have realized that a series is in the making if I am to do this topic justice . For today , couple of salient points . Mr. Keller wrote his book in 1970 , even earlier than I remembered . He wrote from a background of having been , among other things; a shepherd and sheep rancher for some eight years and as the lay pastor of a community church .  I wont attempt to regurgitate his book but I will urge you to read or reread it as the case may be . For today , I will let the Psalm speak to us .

The  Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want,

He maketh  me to lie down in green pastures; He leadeth me bedside the still waters

He restoreth my soul; He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake

Yea. though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me. Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me

Thou dost prepare a table before me  for in the presence of mine enemies,

Thou anointest my head with oil, my  cup runneth over

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all  the days of my  life  and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

September 9, 2008 - Posted by | Bible study | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

