Tarheeltalker

Do You Love to Read ? You Should

One of the few things that our children share in common with my wife and I is a love of reading . Although I have no empirical evidence to support it, my theory is that a love of reading is the most crucial skill that one needs to acquire in school and nurture throughout one’s lifetime . Having said that, my observation as well as reputable surveys indicate that reading is on the decline . I read a survey recently that stated a significant percentage of adults do not read one book per year . I have wondered why that is so; our friend the internet, video games , tv , text messaging etc. Even so ,if one can come to view reading as a positive thing and not just a waste of time , the obstacles can be overcome . Remember, we dont always have to be doing something to be doing something . The scripture teaches us to be still and know . So, find a subject, find an author or two or three and consume that written word.

July 11, 2008 - Posted by | Reading

1 Comment »

  1. The worst part is, we fill our lives with craziness and busyness. Being still, another struggle of mine. Sometimes I think, if I sit still, he might really look at me, or… worse yet, I might actually look at me. 🙂 Give me a book. 🙂

    Great post. sorry for the rant. Was it even relevant?

    Comment by Andy McMahon | July 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

