Tarheeltalker

Musings on Mortality

Musing on Mortality

After much prompting from my son, i have entered the brave new world of blogging. I am told that i should blog since i have a lot to say about a lot things . Whether that is true only time will tell. Having said that , I have been thinking about the death of Tim Russert and the varied responses to it. I was not overly familiar with Mr Russert but his book Big Russ and Me caught my attention when it was published. About all that he and I shared was a common age; consequently his sudden death captured my attention . I have marveled at the outpouring of tributes and their depth of feeling. I will admit to thinking that were I to pass from the scene in a like manner, what would the response be. More on this as time goes on. As with anything i might say, comments are welcome.
June 23, 2008 - Posted by | Life and Death |

3 Comments »

  1. I am glad to see that you have decided to enter the world of blogging. I must say that, should you pass, my world would not be the same. You have stepped in as a father and a friend, and you would be deeply missed. In fact, ask your son how many times I say I miss you since our return to Atlanta… and how many times I watch rerun episodes of NCIS on-line. I love you and look forward to seeing where your blog goes. Keep an eye on mine as well.

    Comment by DesertBlossom | June 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Well, this is interesting -who would have thought you had so much to write! We were also quite shocked by the early death of Russert, but we are not as familiar with his show due to the time it came on. But regardless of that, it is still a shock to hear of the death of one so young, also since he had checked out good with his dr. As to how I would feel if you were to pass from this scene-well, I can’t begin to say how devastating this would be to me! It’s not something I can even begin to think on.Well,enough of this depressing thought.Will keep checking back to see what other great thoughts you might have.

    Comment by PShope | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. Welcome to the WWB… er wonderful world of blogging. You’re one step ahead of me with a wordpress! You have done an amazing job with your son and I look forward to hearing what you have to say. Stop by and check out my blog if you have some time.

    Comment by Andy McMahon | June 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

